Ask Your Question
0

How do I prevent automatic talkgroup linking?

asked 2017-12-09 18:56:09 +0100

WA6NQW gravatar image

I am using an OpenSpot. When I link to a TG using the radio, and then unlink with a TG4000 call, I get the "unlinked" message, but I continue to hear traffic, and transmit, on the supposedly unlinked group. Logging into Self-Care, I see that the group I unlinked from has now been made a static talkgroup. That is the opposite of what I want to happen -- if I unlink, I want it gone, not made permanent. The only way to get rid of it I have found requires going through the computer and logging into self-care to drop it. Am I doing something wrong, or is there a setting I have messed up? It really needs to be removable via radio. the whole idea is to not need the computer every time I use it. Thanks for any suggestions.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 Answer

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2017-12-10 00:52:05 +0100

N6XTN gravatar image

I have the same issue. Sometimes I can unlink a dozen times. Turn my radio off. Walk away, have lunch, and return to find that the Openspot is still receiving traffic at the rate of knots. This may be my misunderstanding, or it may be shortcoming. In any event, an UNLINK should be provided some priority to minimize the network traffic.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

I think there are two separate problems here. One that sending TG4000 by radio via the SRF doesn't properly do an unlink; if you send it from the browser interface, it unlinks properly. SRF doesn't seem to want to acknowledge that issue. BM moving the unlinked TG to static is a different problem.

WA6NQW gravatar imageWA6NQW ( 2017-12-10 03:43:27 +0100 )edit

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2017-12-09 18:56:09 +0100

Seen: 107 times

Last updated: Dec 10 '17